top of page

Cafe Pipineó and Saqra


We first moved here last May, not having a job was great. Everything was fresh and exciting. Not working made it possible to dig right into the island. But I gots to make that paper to afford my wanna be globetrotter lifestyle!! So when I found a job that also gave me the summers off I couldn't have been happier. I set goals to start this blog and explore Okinawa's cafes and craft shops. But I fell into a slump and lost my motivation a bit when Wade took off a few weeks ago. Making friends can be hard as an adult. Especially an adult that doesn't mind being alone. ( I'm working on it lol, add it to the list of improvements for my 30's)

So in comes Kristen ( the bestie) via video calling to kick me in the butt and challenged me to think of someone I barely know and ask them to hangout. Because it would be a huge friend faux pas to not do as I was told, I asked another ESL teacher I recently met, Vanessa, to lunch. She said yes!! :::insert raising the roof dance:::

I have been eyeing this cafe due to a local's instagram photography account I follow. (masanritsuchiya) I'm a sucker for good food. I'm an even bigger sucker for good food in beautiful spaces. This place did not disappoint in either category.

The stained glass panal was made by the artist next door at Saqra.

Cafe Pipineó is located in the middle of nowhere, it is a little oasis in a business dry farm village. When you walk in you are blown away but its Scandinavian country interior. The amount of light easily made my vitamin D levels double during our time there and I envied the umbrella trees... hard.

The food was a little more complex then the design. I had the fish with cream sauce, recommended by the waitress. Vanessa had the chicken in a vinegar sauce (red sauce). Both came with soup, side salad and drink. Next time I'm trying the squid ink curry!

You could add on dessert for a little extra. Don't worry, we did. A hefty slice of lemon cake, don't mind if I do!

This cafe is known for its extra large and extra yummy cinnamon rolls. You can buy them prepackaged to take home and pop in the microwave for 30seconds.... and they come in chocolate.

On our way out we popped next door to visit Saqra.

Saqra is a store ran by a stained glass artist but carries trinkets from many artists. This store screamed Ashley. Lots of lush plants and succulants, craft art and DIY home decor. If you stop by the cafe during the week, please take the time to see the shop. Everything was reasonably priced and unique.

There was just too much adorable in this place.

This outing was perfect to make a new friend and reignite my explorative bone for our trip to Thailand. Don't worry I'll fill you in about the trip next week! :::more raising of the roof::: followed by a few "woot woots".

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

 pleased to meet you

My name is Ashley. I am a creative educator that recently entered my 30s.  I'm currently living in Okinawa, Japan with my husband, Wade, and two dogs, Keira and Kingston.

 

My passion in life is to find the the beauty that surrounds us in the world no matter where my husbands job, our travels or my dreams take us. 

 

Fern · weh:  n. 1. wanderlust ; longing for far off places. 

            follow me:

Subscribe for Updates

Thank you bunches for subscribing!

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
search by tags:
No tags yet.
  recent posts:
bottom of page