top of page

Little Greek Kitchen

"Once you have been to Greece you will never forget that blue, Grecian blue. It seems ordinary but when you fall in love the way I did, well that blue makes you hit your breaks and swing a hard sharp right down a narrow street and quick left down what is best called an alley eventually leading you to 'Little Greek Kitchen.' "

This is an excerpt from my last post all about Ikeijima. While putting together that post the need for Greek food reached the red alert level and I went back this past weekend. I'm so happy to say that “Little Greek Kitchen” has really taken off and it was jammed packed when I went back!! Her adorable storage container restaurant was full from start to finish of my visit, all of which were reservations!!

Pamela is the owner, chef, and who I would want to be when I grow up. Her life story is intriguing and full of “oh man I wish I could have the guts to do that!!!” moments when you hear it. The first time I came by it was what I recall, her first week of opening. She wasn't quite done with everything and she was actually preparing for an event but I was able to sit and chat with her while she spoiled me with souvlaki, crusty bread with a tomato olive paste and cheesecake with a nutty crust and filling made from homemade Greek yogurt. I mean it everyone, this lady is AWESOME. I wish I took more photos but we were too busy talking.

This past weekend Pamela was just as amazing as last time, maybe even more so. She handled her full space with ease serving dish after dish of all her homemade goodies. She doesn't have a menu, rather she creates her menu daily, Greek meze siyle. It is formed by what is available, but from the two extensive meals I have had, it is always delicious. She makes everything from scratch… EVERYTHING. Bread, Greek yogurt, even feta. She has a few goats for milk and is currently raising chickens.

This meal started with a triple spread plate. Beets and yogurt, roasted red peppers and baba gonouj (eggplant dip) with sesame bread. Greek salad with homemade feta, seafood stew over pasta, and a plate off all greek goodness! Chicken,spinach pie, stuffed grape leaves… I could go on. My meal ended with a ginger cake, yogurt and candied orange slice and a beautiful glass of Greek iced coffee. Be still my heart. I was too excited to take a picture of this. This seems to happen to me around really good food.

I recommend you call for a reservation. There is limited seating, which fills quickly, and Pamela makes everything from scratch; this will help her plan accordingly. ;)

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

 pleased to meet you

My name is Ashley. I am a creative educator that recently entered my 30s.  I'm currently living in Okinawa, Japan with my husband, Wade, and two dogs, Keira and Kingston.

 

My passion in life is to find the the beauty that surrounds us in the world no matter where my husbands job, our travels or my dreams take us. 

 

Fern · weh:  n. 1. wanderlust ; longing for far off places. 

            follow me:

Subscribe for Updates

Thank you bunches for subscribing!

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
search by tags:
No tags yet.
  recent posts:
bottom of page