top of page

Ecotourism & Elephants

Our trip to Thailand wouldn't be complete with out some sort of elephant experience. I began researching and came across 100's of different places throughout Thailand that you could choose from. While reading a few of my favorite travel blogs I came across Alex's post about The Elephant Nature Park. After comparing it with a few other parks it was easy to make the choice.

Me trying to reason with Ms Happy about my empty banana bag.

Just Wade, walking his elephant. NBD

Elephant Nature Park is really a sanctuary whose main focus is creating a natural safe haven for elephants who have been injured, abused or both due to the expanse of the tourism and the ending of the logging industry. They also help rebuild the land and provide care for several hundreds of homeless dogs (my heaven!). Many of the rescued elephants have physical scarring of their abused past. Others had very visible handicaps from the variety of work they were forced into. In the park the elephants make their own families, or herds. The park has nothing to do with it other than making sure they are suitable to be around elephants safely. The amazing thing about this is that all the handicapped elephants chose to form their own family. They had a member with a stiff leg, another with a large foot injury from stepping on landmine and even one with a dipped spine from tourist riding for over 20 years. The stories we were told about each elephant grew harder to hear as the day went on. To witness the personalities and playfulness of each elephant made it difficult to believe regardless of the physical evidence and scars left by their horrible past.

Elephant Nature Park has saved dozens of elephants since opening in the early 90's. They currently have 36 in their care and have birthed 11 on site. The package we chose (Pamper a Pachyderm) had us walking through the reserve for six hours with five lovely lady elephants. These elephants were able to walk freely with us, no ropes, chains or hooks. All that was needed was lots, and lots, and lots… and lots of bananas. Our guide, Mine, joked that when asked how much elephants eat his response is “I'll be able to tell you when I see one stop.” Its true, at one point I thought Wade was a goner because he was not shelling out the food fast enough. We were able to help the elephants play and bath in the river, then had an amazing lunch, rafted down the river to the main park.

Bath time! They ate, we worked.

I'm sure its just me, but aren't elephant butts the cutest?

I wasn't expecting such a layout for lunch, a sandwhich maybe.

There were options for everyone and it was delish!!

This is where the herds spend most of their days. The baby is named Jungle boy.

The main park is where most visitors spend their day for the “single day visit” package. We watched two separate herds, play and swim after their “work day” of eating bananas and watermelon. Each herd had a baby which were just too cute for words. Even with all that amazingness the best part of our day was being lucky enough to catch the mahout (elephant trainer/caregiver) for two elephants with the best story. Get your tissues ready for this one.

The first elephant rescued was Mae Perm. She had a difficult past and her baby was taken from her far too soon and injured her previous owner because of it. Jokia came to the park years later with a horrific past and she is now blind due to being stabbed in her eyes. (I know, I'm sorry) Well upon her arrival, Mae Perm took her under her care. They have been completely inseparable since. Mae Perm is Jokia's eyes. When we came upon them, Jokia stayed back while Mae Perm came and checked out each individual in our group (there were 10 of us). When I say checked out I mean came up, pushed against you. She made a deep low noise at Wade until his sunglasses were removed! She gave the all clear to Jokia and the love fest began. Jokia was just the sweetest of all the elephants we met that day.

Wade and I snuggling with Jokia, the sweetest lady of the day.

This experience changed me. It was beyond perfect day and impacted both our lives forever. I'm so happy that I was able to have this day with Wade since he is not always around to join in on my adventures. I'm also happy that I took the time to find a place that would bring more than entertainment to our trip.

:::stepping on my internet soapbox:::

One of the important things to take away from this is ecotourism. Even when you are traveling your actions and money greatly effect the environment, wildlife and people that surround you. Make sure when you make your travel arrangements that your money is going towards the good that is going on in the world.

Thailand is a developing country and there are lots of opportunities for activities that benefit the further growth and well being of this stunning country. Unfortunately, there are just as many enticing activities that don't. We could have gone to a park where we rode elephants, took pictures with baby tigers and even spent some time with a northern hill tribes people. It didn't take much time for me to come across in my research which places were looking out for the welfare of all and the ones that were looking to make money. I doubt a happy healthy tiger will lay there for hours to be cuddled and kissed on a chain without being sedated. The hill tribes have changed their practices with time but still use disfigurement on select young girls to display and to attract tourist. Please think critically at home and when traveling about the businesses you support.

:::stepping down:::

Ok, here are more happy elephants.

Itchy Itchy butt! (You can see the landmine victim on the left raising her injured foot.)

The two babies meeting up for a playdate.

Always eating

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

 pleased to meet you

My name is Ashley. I am a creative educator that recently entered my 30s.  I'm currently living in Okinawa, Japan with my husband, Wade, and two dogs, Keira and Kingston.

 

My passion in life is to find the the beauty that surrounds us in the world no matter where my husbands job, our travels or my dreams take us. 

 

Fern · weh:  n. 1. wanderlust ; longing for far off places. 

            follow me:

Subscribe for Updates

Thank you bunches for subscribing!

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
search by tags:
No tags yet.
  recent posts:
bottom of page